In an effort to reinforce solidarity and cooperation between affiliates, the UNI-Africa Executive Committee recommended in 2001 for the setting-up a coordination structure in each country to be called National Liaison Council. The establishment of such a structure could facilitate the coordination of union development projects from which UNI-Africa affiliates benefit.

For this purpose, proposed guidelines for the establishment of these councils were sent to affiliates.

Meetings between affiliates and Regional Representatives of UNI-Africa were held in several countries resulting into the formation of National Liaison Councils. The proposed guidelines that are attached herewith were sent to affiliates and they outline the objectives, compositions and functioning of Liaison Councils.

Established National Liaison Councils

The following countries have formed National Liaison Councils:

  • Burkina Faso
  • Chad
  • Côte d'Ivoire
  • Egypt
  • Ghana
  • Guinea
  • Kenya
  • Mozambique
  • Niger
  • Nigeria
  • Senegal
  • Sierra Leone
  • South Africa
  • Togo
  • Tunisia
  • Uganda
  • Zambia
  • Zimbabwe